Acknowledgments

The Editors are extremely grateful to all people who contributed to the organization of the IABMAS 2012 Conference and to the production of this volume. Particularly, the Editors would like to express their sincere thanks to all the authors for their contributions, to the members of the International Scientific Committee and the National Advisory Committee for their role in ensuring the highest scientific level of the Conference, and to the members of the National Organizing Committee for the time and efforts dedicated to make IABMAS 2012 a successful event.

Moreover, the Editors wish to thank all organizations, institutions, and authorities that offered their sponsorship. At the institutional level, a special acknowledgment has to be given to the Politecnico di Milano, for organizing and co-sponsoring this Conference along with the International Association for Bridge Maintenance and Safety (IABMAS), as well as to the Department of Structural Engineering for endorsing and supporting the Conference organization.

IABMAS 2012 has been conceived, planned, and developed in close consultation and cooperation with several individuals. Principally, the Editors wish to express their sincere gratitude to Pier Giorgio Malerba, Honorary Chair of the Conference, and Franco Bontempi, co-Chair of the International Scientific Committee, for their valuable and continuous support to the scientific organization of this Conference.

The Editors are also extremely thankful to Airong Chen, Hyun-Moo Koh and Richard Sause, co-Chairs of the International Scientific Committee; Marcello Ciampoli, Andrea Del Grosso and Claudio Modena, co-Chairs of the National Advisory Committee; Elsa Garavaglia and Luca Martinelli, co-Chairs of the National Organizing Committee; Alessandro Palermo, Secretary of the International Scientific Committee.

Finally, the Editors wish to express their warmest appreciation to Elena Camnasio and Andrea Titi, who led the Scientific Secretariat and provided a huge amount of effective teamwork, and Roberta Stucchi, who designed, developed and maintained the Conference website with praiseworthy dedication and technical skill. Special thanks are due to Stella Pennini, Laura Manenti, Marta Padovan, Miriam Zanelli, and all team of Incentives & Congressi, who professionally managed the Organizing Secretariat with outstanding expertise, commitment and enthusiasm which have been very important for the successful organization of this Conference.